FIVE COLLEGE ARCHITECTURAL STUDIES

FIVE COLLEGE ARCHITECTURAL STUDIES

Five College Architectural Studies Faculty

Amherst College Faculty
*Gabriel Arboleda
Assistant Professor of Architectural Studies
arboleda@amherst.edu

Dwight Carey
Postdoctoral Fellow in Art and the History of Art
dcarey@amherst.edu

Nicola M. Courtright
Professor of the History of Art and European Studies
nmcourtright@amherst.edu

Heidi Gilpin
Associate Professor of German and Chair of Architectural Studies
hgilpin@amherst.edu

Ronald C. Rosbottom
Winifred L. Arms Professor in the Arts and Humanities and Professor of French and European Studies 
rcrosbottom@amherst.edu

Hampshire College Faculty
Myrna Breitbart
Professor Emerita, Geography and Urban Studies
mmbSS@hampshire.edu

Donna Cohn
Associate Professor of Applied Design
dclm@hampshire.edu

Karen Koehler
Professor of Architectural and Art History
kkHACU@hampshire.edu

*Thom Long
Associate Professor of Architecture + Design
tlong@hampshire.edu

James Miller
Professor of Communications
jrmCCS@hampshire.edu

Mount Holyoke College
*Naomi Darling - Mount Holyoke, UMass
Assistant Professor of Sustainable Architecture
ndarling@mtholyoke.edu

*Michael T. Davis
Professor of Art History and Architecture (Medieval, Modern, Islamic)
Chair, Architectural Studies Program
mtdavis@mtholyoke.edu

Jessica Maier
Associate Professor of Art History and Architecture (Early modern, Baroque, History of maps)
jmaier@mtholyoke.edu

Ajay Sinha
Professor of Art History and Architecture (Indian art, Asian art, Indian films)
asinha@mtholyoke.edu

Joseph Smith
Professor of Art (Studio art and sculpture) 
smithj@mtholyoke.edu

Paul Staiti
Professor of Art History and Architecture (American art, cultural history, film studies)
pstaiti@mtholyoke.edu

Smith College
Bridget Buettner 
Professor of Art and Chair of Department 
bbuettne@smith.edu

Laura Kalba 
Associate Professor of Art
lkalba@smith.edu

Barbara Kellum 
Professor of Art 
bkellum@email.smith.edu 

Dana Leibsohn 
Professor of Art 
dleibsoh@smith.edu

*Elisa Kim
Assistant Professor of Architectural Studies
emkim@smith.edu

John Moore 
Professor of Art, Associate Chair of the Department
jmoore@smith.edu

Frazer Ward 
Associate Professor of Art
fward@smith.edu

University of Massachusetts Amherst
Ajla Aksamija, PhD
Associate Professor, Architecture
aaksamija@umass.edu

*Caryn Brause, AIA LEED-AP
Associate Professor, Architecture
cjbrause@umass.edu

Carey Clouse
Associate Professor, Architecture and Landscape Architecture
clouse@umass.edu

Naomi Darling, AIA
Five College Professor, Architecture
mdarling@umass.edu

Joseph Krupczynski
Associate Professor, Architecture
josephk@umass.edu

Sandy Litchfield
Assistant Professor, Architecture
slitchfi@umass.edu

Kathleen Lugosch
Professor, Architecture
lugosch@art.umass.edu

Ray Kinoshita Mann
Associate Professor, Architecture
rkmann@umass.edu

Max Page
Professor, Architecture
mpage@umass.edu

Sigrid Miller Pollin
Professor, Architecture
smillerp@umass.edu

Pari Riahi
Assistant Professor, Architecture
priahi@umass.edu

*Stephen Schreiber Professor and Chair, Architecture
schreiber@umass.edu

Erika Zekos
Lecturer, Architecture
ezekos@umass.edu


*Member of the 5 College Architectural Studies Committee

Advisors

Five College Architectural Studies majors will be offered an advisor from their home campus. Students in their capstone year will select an advisor from their home campus as the chair of their thesis and Division III projects.

The program liaisons for each campus are listed below. Please contact them directly to organize your advisory committee.

Hampshire College:
Thom Long, Associate Professor of Architecture + Design
Send an email >>

Mount Holyoke College: 
M. Naomi Darling, Assistant Professor of Sustainable Architecture
Send an email >>

Amherst College
Gabriel Arboleda, Assistant Professor of Environmental Design
Send an email >>

How To Apply

The FCAS major is offered at Hampshire College, Mount Holyoke College and Amherst College. Students interested in this unique program must apply to one or more of these schools.

Apply Now

Events: Coming up Next

No items found.

About the Program

The FCAS program engages in myriad of questions about architecture and design. It encourages students to define and engage with the aspects of history, theory and design that they find most compelling. The program provides the essential concrete foundations, but an open-ended curriculum.

Explore the Program

The Major

The FCAS major is a liberal arts degree designed to provide students the essential foundations in architectural history, theory and studio design, but allows students to develop their own area of study with the broader discipline of architectural studies.

Learn More About the Major

Resources

The Five College program provides a wide array of creative resources for students. There are studios on all five campuses, digital fabrication maker spaces and advanced computer labs open to all students. As well, student have access to five full library collections and research materials, delivered to their home campus library.

Five Colleges®, Incorporated | 97 Spring Street, Amherst, MA 01002 | (413) 542-4000 |  © 2018

FOLLOW US: 

The Five College Architectural Studies program is an interdisciplinary course of study that bridges five campuses and is available to students currently enrolled in Hampshire College, Amherst College or Mount Holyoke College.